abstract road

DUI Penalties

Obtain Immediate Legal Help

To save your license, you must act within 10 days. Get in touch with our firm by calling 904.450.5220, or fill out the form here.

Get in Touch Now

DUI Penalties in Florida

What penalties am I facing for a DUI?

Driving while intoxicated by alcohol or drugs is extremely dangerous and is therefore highly penalized in the state of Florida. In order to discourage individuals from drinking and driving, Florida law lists high fines and possible time in jail or state prison for individuals who are convicted of driving under the influence. These penalties compound for each subsequent DUI conviction after a first offense. At Parks & Braxton, PA, our attorneys have a thorough understanding of Florida's criminal DUI laws and penalties, as well as its administrative license suspension procedures. Speak with an aggressive Jacksonville DUI attorney from our firm as soon as possible to begin building a strong defense against your charges.

Florida Statutes §316.193

First Offense

  • Misdemeanor
  • Fine of $500 - $1,000
  • Possible jail sentence of up to 1 year
  • Vehicle impoundment for up to 10 days
  • License suspension for 180 days to 1 year
  • BAC > 0.15% or a child in the car
  • Fine of $1,000 - $2,000
  • Community service hours
  • DUI school & other classes
  • Probation up to 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device

Second Offense

  • Misdemeanor
  • Fine of $1,000 - $2,000
  • Jail sentence of 10 days to 9 months
  • Vehicle impoundment for 30 days
  • License suspension for up to 5 years
  • BAC > 0.15%:
  • Fine of $2,000 - $4,000
  • Possible jail sentence of up to 1 year
  • Community service hours
  • DUI school & other classes
  • Probation up to 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device

Third Offense

  • Misdemeanor*
  • Fine of $2,000 - $5,000
  • Possible jail sentence of 30 days to 1 year
  • Minimum license suspension of 10 years
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days
  • BAC > 0.15%:
  • Minimum fine of $4,000
  • Community service hours
  • DUI school & other classes
  • Probation up to 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device

Fourth Offense

  • Felony DUI
  • Fine of $2,000 - $5,000
  • State prison sentence of up to 5 years
  • Permanent license suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment for 90 days
  • BAC > 0.15%:
  • Minimum fine of $4,000
  • Community service hours
  • DUI school & other classes
  • Probation up to 1 year
  • Ignition interlock device

*Note: A third DUI can be convicted as a felony if committed within 10 years of a prior offense.

Consult with a DUI Lawyer in Jacksonville

Parks & Braxton, PA is one of Jacksonville's most highly rated DUI defense firms. We have handled thousands of DUI cases to successful outcomes, including hundreds of "not guilty" verdicts and case dismissals. Call our offices or fill out our free online case evaluation form to speak with a Jacksonville DUI attorney and find out exactly how we can handle your case. The sooner you retain a lawyer, the better, so contact us today!

View All Our Recent DUI Wins

Click Here
Case #05-2013-CT-065706 Defendent arrested after failing field tests and blowing above .08 at checkpoint. The State dropped the DUI. View All Wins
Case #7939-XEM Defendent arrested after rear-ending another vehicle and failing field sobriety test. The DUI was dismissed. View All Wins
Case #11-018737MM10A Defendent arrested after failing field sobriety test. The State dropped the DUI. View All Wins