Arrested for drunk driving outside of Florida?
Just because you were arrested for
DUI outside of Florida does not mean that your actions will not have consequences
when you return home. Many individuals are charged with driving under
the influence (DUI) while on vacation or attending to business in another
state. When this happens, they must not only undergo the criminal procedure
of the state in which they were arrested, but they must also suffer from
license suspension the moment they return to Florida. Florida is one of
many states under the Driver's License Compact, which requires all
states in the compact to report traffic violations to the motorist's
home state so that they can impose their administrative license suspension
when the individual returns.
The penalties for DUI vary from state to state. If you are arrested for
driving while intoxicated outside of Florida, you will be penalized according
to that state's DUI laws and sentencing, which could be more or less
severe than Florida's, unless you retain a skilled DUI lawyer who
can fight your charges. When you come back to Florida, you could face
the following terms of license suspension:
First DUI - 180 days to 1 year
Second DUI - 5 years
Third DUI - 10 years
Fourth DUI - Permanent
Parks & Braxton, PA can provide the support and aggressive defense
that you need to avoid the compounded penalties of an out-of-state DUI.
We will work tirelessly to obtain a satisfactory verdict or to have your
case dismissed altogether and can fight to protect you from license suspension.